Take hold day 32

Last year when I chose as my words for the year, ‘take hold’, I was very aware that there were a lot of good things in my life but I didn’t seem to believe that they were mine to firmly grasp. I had promising work prospects, a good (restored) marriage, a faith community, but I was observing them rather than securely claiming them as mine.

Despite not really believing that I was entitled to them, or that I was worthy of them, at the start of 2016 I began to ‘take hold’ of them. Holding on to those things meant letting go of others. It meant prioritising them above other opportunities and demands.

I did that, and in this past week I’ve seen the work aspect of that initiative reach a significant point.

I took hold, and it was mine to take and I can now see and believe that.

I put myself in a place of faith, believing that God could and would bring change this year. It took me until the 13th December to see the outworking of the truth that God wanted to reveal to me. In eternal terms 11 months and 13 days is a blink, or maybe half a blink, but in human terms it felt like quite a long time.

This week I’ve been reminded  to trust God even when I can’t see the path ahead clearly and when the answers don’t seem to come quickly enough.

Leave a Reply

