Taking hold of my choices : Day 7 and 8

‘I have chosen the way of truth

I have set my heart on your laws

I hold fast to your statutes O Lord

do no let me be put to shame.

I run in the path of your commands,

for you have set my heart free.’  Psalm 119 v 30-32

I’ve been thinking about my own struggles to ‘live what I believe’.

The days when I choose to do things which aren’t consistent with life as a follower of Jesus.

I know that I have been and will be forgiven for all that I do wrong, but as Paul wrote in his letter to the Romans ‘Shall we go on sinning, so that grace many increase? By no means! We died to sin, how can we live in it any longer? ‘ (6 v 2)

I don’t feel good about myself when I do some things. I don’t know whether they are sinful or just misjudged, or not the best thing, but I do know that I get a sense of discomfort. So I’ve had to think about what I am going to do about that.

On social media I follow some people who are living out their sobriety. What I’m repeatedly struck by is their daily choice to stay sober. Their daily choice to resist the temptation to drink. Their daily choice to choose the path which will bring them freedom rather than staying shackled to alcohol.

I have a lot to learn from them.

Yes, God loves me, forgives me and will help me, but I need to make choices and use all of my strength to make the right ones.

So I’m taking hold of my choices. They are no one else’s. They are within my control. I want to follow the way of truth, and I want to run in the path of God’s commands. There is no need for hesitancy if that is the path I’m on. I won’t need to keep checking my motives or behaviours if I know that I am following God’s laws.

I’m choosing freedom.

Leave a Reply

