Taking Hold of the present: Day 4 of 50

Last night I couldn’t sleep. I felt unwell and I got up a little past midnight. I don’t know why but I logged on to my computer and found a message from a friend. She’d waited until midnight to send it because she wanted me to read it today. She told me that I don’t need to feel bad about this day or any other, no matter what it represents to me in terms of the past, because I have been remade and so has this day.

I’ve written before about how I’ve known the whispers (and shouts) of God through the words and actions of people. Well today God has been more present in the minutiae than I would be willing to believe if it hadn’t happened to me.

I have had a day which feels as if it has been stage managed to perfection. At every turn where I might have forgotten about redemption, I was presented with something new and good. I was reminded all day that each day is a precious gift of opportunities and experiences. I’m not talking about great, amazing things, but about little things that are a whisper of a God who knows me saying, ‘hey there. I love you. don’t forget that.’  Today it was a friend on a train, a delicious lunch, the discovery of Pepsi Max Cherry ( if you haven’t tried it you must. It is fantastic!), and a change of train platform on my way home.  There were other things too, but you get the idea. And the way God whispers to me – it won’t be the same as the way God whispers to you. We need to hear different things and in different ways.

We spend so much time thinking about our past. Today I took hold of the present.

2 thoughts on “Taking Hold of the present: Day 4 of 50

Leave a Reply

