All you need is grace

‘My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
My strength comes into its own in your weakness.’

The Message, 1 Corinthians 12 v 9

Two weeks ago I read a blog post, which resonated in such a way that I found myself embarking on a fast. It was both a physical and a spiritual fast. I was going to give up sugar in order to allow God to show me the things that I needed to break free from in my life.

I knew before I began what those things were, but I’m such an all or nothing kind of person that I needed a proper ‘this is what I’m doing now’ moment. The sugar fast gave me that.

Fast forward to today and I’m starting again with the fast. It was supposed to be a 40 day fast but I only fasted for 10 days.

Then (unrelated to the fasting) I got sick and my body craved some stuff and I had it.I’ve had 4 days of reverting to old ways, and today I begin again.

I’m not beating myself up for breaking the fast. That’s not the point.

I’m so sure that God uses everything that we do, and we choose, as a place and experience through which we can be loved, and through which we can know Him more, that I don’t feel like I’ve failed.

You can’t fail if success is to continue being yourself and being loved by God.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far from both the fast and the breaking of it:

  • It wasn’t difficult to fast for the first 10 days. Maybe because I was accessing God’s strength and not my own, I had no cravings, no mood swings, no hesitation in making good choices. The lack of sugar reminded me of the more important choices I was making.
  • Breaking the fast was also easy. And once I broke it I decided to really break it – there was no off switch. Once I’d taken a little bit of sugar (and the equivalent life stuff that I was cutting out) I felt I might as well take a lot.
  • I have chosen to fast again because actually I liked how life was without the sugar and without the other things. I liked relying on God’s grace. I was so thrilled to discover that I could overcome temptations which I previously believed I was hopeless to resist. My digestion is better – I’m managing better with the things that I eat and do than I was when I was taking in the sugar and the other things I fasted from.

Yesterday I heard a story in church about someone engaging in a difficult task. As he was doing it he got some grit in his eye. You know how painful that can be. Twenty minutes later he’d dislodged the grit, but he’d lost his momentum for the task he’d been doing. However, he continued, even though it was hard to start up again, and managed to finish the job.

It’s rather like when we try to do something and then irritations, or difficulties or pain stops us, and we lose momentum. But we can choose to get going again. That’s what is happening here.

It feels difficult again today. I’m floundering a little – regaining momentum is a hard thing to do.

But I am grateful to a God who wants me to grow and to live the best life I can, and who, like a parent watching their child learn to walk, keeps smiling and encouraging me.

Every time I feel tempted to do the things I am fasting from I am saying these words:

‘My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
My strength comes into its own in your weakness.’

Truth.

2 thoughts on “All you need is grace

  1. I so needed this! Almost the same experience in terms of on/off. I was starting to feel condemned but I know His grace is sufficient for me. I’m really enjoying time with the Lord on this fast. Back on the wagon !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

