Day 27: Feeble arms and weak knees – a lesson in resistance

One of the most significant things I’ve learned over these past months is that I don’t learn something just once. I learn and forget; I learn and become worn down; I learn and am distracted; I learn and choose to ignore; I learn again and again and again. The same lessons.

And that does not make me a failure . 

It does not mean I am stupid. 

It doesn’t prove that I don’t want to make good choices. 

It is not something to be ashamed of. 

A couple of weeks after Easter I was wondering if things would ever get easier?  I wondered if my feelings would ever change? Would I ever stop missing the other? Would I ever feel love for my husband again?  I wrote in my journal;

“Today I commit this next term to you Father. With all its unknowns. Carry me close. Don’t set me down even if I wriggle and try to get away. Please can you soothe away some of the pain too. I need you. I know you will never leave me or forsake me. I totally trust you. “

Weeks later things  continued to be difficult. It was the other’s birthday and I found myself in a shop buying a gift for him. I didn’t send it. I told a friend what I’d done and she held me accountable over the difficult week of his birthday. I didn’t know how to keep holding fast but I kept reading my bible. On a difficult morning the reading was from Hebrews 12 v 4;

“In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding blood.”

I was really struck by those words. Resisting sin, following the right paths is expected to be immensely difficult. In some ways I was reassured that finding it so difficult was not because I was particularly weak or rubbish, but because it was HARD.

I read on further to verses 11 and 12

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on however it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees. Make level paths for your feet so that the limb which is lamed may not be put out of joint but be healed.” 

Could God have been giving me any clearer communications?  I needed level paths. That meant sticking with my marriage, not contacting the other, going to counselling and trusting God. I had a lame limb which needed to heal. I had been badly, badly injured and I needed to walk in a way that would allow healing rather than make things worse.

He knew my arms were feeble and my knees were weak. He knew I was lame. It was ok to be as I was.

Understanding.

Lights in the darkness. 

18 thoughts on “Day 27: Feeble arms and weak knees – a lesson in resistance

    1. It’s good that God is patient isn’t it ? 🙂 I guess life is a constant learning and re-learning. The bit I am finding so important is to not stop re-learning because I think I should have learned it by now, and if it’s not sticking yet then I should give up. It’s about keeping on keeping on …

      Like

  1. Love this. “In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding blood.” That verse has hit me in the past in much the same way and I needed that reminder again today. I think I am trying so hard and then I’m reminded, I haven’t even begun to fight. Oh thank you for letting God speak through your words today.

    Like

    1. Sarah thank you for finding me! I look forward to having you here on this journey. I am trying to be as honest as I can because I really believe that it is in sharing the most honest version of ourselves that others can see how amazing God’s love and grace really is 🙂

      Like

  2. I appreciate your honesty. We all have mess but it often feels as though others don’t, because it seems easier to hide and appear together. I particularly resonated today with the comment about your readings this year; when I am truly seeking I find, but I haven’t found too much recently – and if I am honest I am not putting all my strength into walking with God. Thank you for blessing me. God bless you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

